Highest Man of the Series: Who took the most MoS awards in Test\ODI\T20

most man of the series

In cricket, the Man of the Series(also called «Player of the Series») award is given to the player who has taken the most wickets in a series. This is a prestigious award and is often given to the leading wicket-taker in a test series.

Someone thinks that the first man of the series award went to Sydney Barnes for taking 49 wickets in the Ashes Series of 1901/02. Barnes was a controversial choice, as he had only played four test matches prior to the series.

But we discovered that Imran Khan was first named Man of the Series against West Indies in 1988. He took 23 wickets in 3 tests.

Since then, many other players have won the award, including some of the game’s greatest bowlers.

Let’s find out who was the most Man of the Series in Test Matches, ODIs, and T20 formats!

Highest Man of the Series in ODI

There are three tiers of athletes. There are sports champions, then there are sporting legends, and then finally, there is Sachin Tendulkar. The man who is also the highest Man of the Match in ODI.

highest man of the series in odi

Sachin Tendulkar is the greatest batsman of all time, and he is the highest Man of the Series in ODI format. Sachin «God of Cricket» Tendulkar got this title 15 times.

Tendulkar not only made it through the turn of the millennium but thrived during this period. His strong foundation and unsurpassed technique allowed him to play his best cricket during this time. In his ODI career, Sachin scored 18,426 runs, 49 of which are centuries, with the highest score of 200 not out.

In 2010, he was awarded his last Man of the Series against South Africa after scoring 204 runs in just two games against the proteas.

Sachin Tendulkar retired from all cricket in 2013.

TOP-5 Man of the Series Awards in ODI

#PlayerNational SideSeriesAwards
1.Sachin Tendulkar1989 – 201210815
2.Sanath Jayasuriya1989 – 2011 11111
3.Shaun Pollock1996 – 2008609
4.Virat Kohli2008 – Now639
5.Chris Gayle1999 – 2019719

Highest Man of the Series in Test

Muttiah Muralitharan is a former Sri Lankan cricketer who was nicknamed the «Smiling Assassin». He is considered one of the greatest bowlers in the history of the game and holds the record for the most test wickets. Despite his many controversies, Muttiah won everyone over with skill and charm.

Muttiah Muralitharan played in 133 matches, received 11 Man of the Series awards, and become the highest Man of the Series in Test.

Muttiah was a right-arm off-spin bowler and is widely regarded as one of the best bowlers in cricket. In his 18-year career, he took over 1000 wickets in both Test and ODI cricket.

He often became the one-man army of the Sri Lankan bowling lineup and fought against opponents.

highest man of the series in test

Muttiah retired from International Cricket in 2010.

TOP-5 Man of the Series Awards in Test

#PlayerNational SideSeriesAwards
1.Muttiah Muralidaran1992 – 20106111
2.Ravichandran Ashwin2011 – Now359
3.Jacques Kallis1995 – 2013619
4.Imran Khan1971 – 1992288
5.Sir RJ Hadlee1973 – 1990338

Most Man of the Series in T20

Virat Kohli is undoubtedly one of the best batsmen in the world. He proved his mettle yet again by being named the Man of the Series in the concluded T20 series against England.

most man of the series in t20

Kohli was in scintillating form throughout the series, scoring runs at will and leading India to victory in all three matches.

His batting average of 50.50 is a testament to his brilliance with the bat.

Virat Kohli got Man of the Series awards in T20 for 7 times. This makes him the most Man of the Series in T20 format.

He scored his half-century during the group stage match of the ICC T20 World Cup 2012 against Afghanistan and got his first Man of the Series award.

Kohli’s performances have been a boon for Indian cricket and he is surely on his way to becoming one of the greatest batsmen of all time.

Virat Kohli continues his career with the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

TOP-5 Man of the Series Awards in T20

#PlayerNational SideSeriesAwards
1.Virat Kohli2010 – Now447
2.Babar Azam2016 – Now295
3.Mohammad Rizwan2015 – Now264
4.Glenn Maxwell2012 – Now354
5.Shakib Al Hasan 2006 – Now394

Most Man of the Series in International Cricket

If you take away all the formats and consider the total number of Man of the Series awards in International Cricket, it becomes clear who is the leader.

Sachin Tendulkar has been awarded the title of Man of the Series 20 times.

However, Sachin’s career is already over, but Virat Kohli, who has a total of 19 Man of the Series awards, could easily become the player with the most Man of the Series awards in just a few tournaments.

most man of the series in international cricket

TOP-5 Man of the Series Awards in International Cricket

Player Span Mat Series Awards Tests ODIs T20Is

#PlayerNational SideSeriesAwards
1.Sachin Tendulkar1989 – 201318320
2.Virat Kohli2008 – Now14519
3.Shakib Al Hasan2006 – Now14316
4.Jacques Kallis1995 – 201414815
5.Sanath Jayasuriya1989 – 201117613

Most Man of the Series in Test For India

We understand how important it is for Indian players to support their favorites in cricket, so we decided to collect the most men of the series in test for India. This table will contain only those players who represent India in some form or another.

most man of the series in test for india

Ravichandran Ashwin has won most Man of the Series awards than any other Indian player. He has been awarded the title a total of 9 times.

The Indian spinner was in scintillating form throughout the series, picking up 27 wickets in just four matches. Ashwin’s performances have earned him plenty of praise from cricketing pundits and fans alike, with many calling him the best spinner in the world right now.

There is no doubt that Ravichandran Ashwin is one of the most talented bowlers in the world, and he is rightly being hailed as a hero after his exploits against England.

TOP-5 Man of the Series Awards in Test For India

#PlayerNational SideSeriesAwards
1.Ravichandran Ashwin2011 – Now359
2.Virender Sehwag2001 – 2013395
3.Sachin Tendulkar1989 – 2013745
4.Kapil Dev1978 – 1994384
5.Harbhajan Singh1998 – 2015474

Cricket is a sport that is beloved by many, and the man of the series award is one of the highest honors that a player can receive.

While there have been many great players over the years, there can only be one man of the series. This honor is reserved for the player who has shown exceptional skill and dedication to the sport.

Suraj Chowdhury Suraj Chowdhury
November 11, 2022
Suraj Chowdhury
Author Suraj Chowdhury

Owner of the BetPiece.com where i gathered betting experts and writers together. This project is my main job, i put my soul in this website. Me and my team ranking only worthy projects that we can advise Indian people with no doubt. All you need to know about me is that I love travel, good steaks, and smell of rosemary make me crazy.